Nant-y-Garw Lead Mine, Llanwrthwl
Nant-y-Garw is a Scheduled Ancinet Monument and comprises the remains of a 19th century lead mine including its water-management and transport systems, extraction and dressing processes with their power systems. Nant-y-Garw Lead Mine was operated for a short time at the end of the nineteenth century, between 1883 and 1899, and represents the well preserved remains of a single-period mine. The remains include a processing mill, jigger, crusher and stone breaker, a shaft with wooden framework, water wheel pit, level, leats, spoil tips, explosives magazine, and associated buildings such as the office and smithy. The dressing mill was designed to contain George Green's patent machinery made at the Cambrian Foundry in Aberystwyth, and is unique in being situated uphill of the shaft, linked to it by an up-haulage incline.
|Mill function||Lead crushing mill, Mine mill/wheel|
|Country||Wales, United Kingdom|
|NGR||SN 874 606|
- Coflein, National Monuments Record of Wales - Mine
- Coflein, National Monuments Record of Wales - Wheel pit
- Historic Wales Cadw Listed Buildings
- Ordnance Survey six-inch map, Brecknockshire IV.SW (1888)
Missing information? Click here to tell us about this mill.