Watermills of County Galway

    Full details

    Authors & editors

    Bowie, Gavin G S [Author]

    Publisher Tuam Mill Museum Society
    Year of publication 1983

    English (main text)

    Medium Book

    Wind & watermills > Other Europe (not GB) > Island of Ireland


    Scope & contentA report for An Foras Forbatha; survey of watermills in County Galway. A detailed description of the gearing and the different types of grain mills is provided.

    The booklet is arranged as a gazetteer according to the significance of the mills - international, national, regional or local. Each mill entry provides its location and a detailed description of the mill and its machinery. Mills included: Lynch's Kilroe mills, Fahy's Killaguile Mill, Corranroo Bay flour mill, Bridge mill, Lisduff mill, Quinn's Dalgin corn and tuck mill, Strongfort corn mill, Clarke's grain and saw mill, Templetogher corn mill, Kilshanvy mill, Leitrim mill, Lettera corn mill, Springfield mill, Gortavoher corn mill, Castlemoyle corn mill, Radford mill, Drumblane corn mill, Kilbeg corn and saw mill, Killian corn mill, Ahascragh flour mill, White mill, Parkaliddaun corn mill, Cloonbricka corn mill, Hyne's flour mill-Gort, Glentane corn mill, Ballinasack corn mill, Aggard corn mill, Boadaun corn mill, Clough House corn mill, Cloonpee Bridge corn mill and Cregg flour mill.

    Copies held

    Accession no. 228661

    • Shelf location: C110
    • Donor: Niall Roberts Collection